Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-08-2006, 07:58 PM   #1
wowmacvent
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3
Default A way to listen without speex?

I hear that there is a way to listen on vent without the server having speex. Can anyone tell me how?
wowmacvent is offline  
Old 10-08-2006, 08:07 PM   #2
Calibos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 26
Default

Using an intel mac and bootcamp and booting up in the Windows OS? But what a cruel way to treat your Mac
Calibos is offline  
Old 10-08-2006, 08:08 PM   #3
wowmacvent
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Is that the only way?
wowmacvent is offline  
Old 10-08-2006, 08:13 PM   #4
Calibos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 26
Default

As far as I know, yes.
Calibos is offline  
Old 10-08-2006, 08:23 PM   #5
wowmacvent
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3
Default

What about using a windows emulator? I'm getting an error message when I try to start of Vent, something about some kinda DL file not being found. Any ideas?

DINPUT8.dll not found.
wowmacvent is offline  
Old 10-08-2006, 08:40 PM   #6
mjgraf
Senior Member
 
mjgraf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some say in my own little world
Posts: 15,502
Default

just change the server to speex codec and ensure that all the windows clients are using the latest beta release. issue corrected
mjgraf is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 02:09 PM   #7
Dubheasa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Default Will there be a fix?

It is extremely unrealistic of me to ask 100+ members to make sure to update to the beta client so that 3 of our members who have macs can use Ventrilo.

Is this going to be fixed so that macs can use the same codecs as PCs without going through this? In July an admin said that it would be, but in September there was an update and the change wasn't addressed.

Will it be addressed or not?
Dubheasa is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 02:40 PM   #8
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

Quote:
It is extremely unrealistic of me to ask 100+ members to make sure to update to the beta client so that 3 of our members who have macs can use Ventrilo.
Why is it extremely unrealistic? I personally know of seven guilds that have done it, and I'd be willing to bet dozens have.

Quote:
Is this going to be fixed so that macs can use the same codecs as PCs without going through this? In July an admin said that it would be, but in September there was an update and the change wasn't addressed.
Flagship has said the problem will be addressed in the next MAJOR release. What we don't know is when that release will occur. Given that we have no timeframe, you have two choices:

1) Wait
2) Work with your guild to move to Speex.
wadesworld is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 04:37 PM   #9
Dubheasa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wadesworld
Why is it extremely unrealistic? I personally know of seven guilds that have done it, and I'd be willing to bet dozens have.
Well, considering there are thousands of guilds that use Vent in WoW, "dozens" isn't exactly a shining beacon in the night. Have you ever tried to get one hundred people to all do the same thing at the same time without having to resort to threats? Realistically we are going to have to deal with the headache, but I'd rather not if I don't have to.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wadesworld
Flagship has said the problem will be addressed in the next MAJOR release. What we don't know is when that release will occur.
That's the problem. Right now we have two clients that are mutually exclusive. In order to get them to talk to each other you have to go through a lot of headache... and no one will tell us when it's over.

I think it's perfectly reasonable to tell the customer /when/ the products will be compatible out of the box.
Dubheasa is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 06:28 PM   #10
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

Quote:
I think it's perfectly reasonable to tell the customer /when/ the products will be compatible out of the box.
Not if you don't know. Developers who publish release dates before the code is done always get themselves into trouble.
wadesworld is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.