Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2006, 11:46 AM   #11
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

It's going to be interesting to see if sound cards actually gain OS X drivers on Intel. Right now, I'm only aware of a single consumer sound card for OS X (the MAudio Revolution series), primarily because they're completely unnecessary. There was briefly a SoundBlaster model for Mac, but it died almost before release.

There are numerous Mac professional sound cards used for the music and audio industry, but I think it rare that an average user would have one.

Wade
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 12:03 PM   #12
Flagship
Administrator
 
Flagship's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some insignifcant planet.
Posts: 8,046
Default

True. MAudio is the only company that is currently producing add-on sound cards. However, that might change in the future.

But the point for adding one is that the standard sound output device that comes with Macs is Stereo only. The only way to get 5.1 is to add a sound card. A lot of Wintel machines these days are shipping with built-in 5.1 suchs as the nForce 4 based chipsets and many others.
__________________
Flagship Industries, Inc.
www.ventrilo.com
Flagship is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 12:13 PM   #13
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

Quote:
But the point for adding one is that the standard sound output device that comes with Macs is Stereo only. The only way to get 5.1 is to add a sound card.
Actually, the PowerMac G5's support built-in 5.1 on the optical audio out port. I've got it hooked up right now.

Wade

Last edited by wadesworld; 01-20-2006 at 12:15 PM.
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 12:52 PM   #14
Flagship
Administrator
 
Flagship's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some insignifcant planet.
Posts: 8,046
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wadesworld
Actually, the PowerMac G5's support built-in 5.1 on the optical audio out port. I've got it hooked up right now.

Wade
I based my statement on my PowerMac G4 tower. Didn't know the G5's had it, but you would still need an amplifier that supports optical. Which is OK, just an added expense.

--Flag
__________________
Flagship Industries, Inc.
www.ventrilo.com
Flagship is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.