Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-12-2006, 09:22 PM   #1
alpha_32
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
Default mac not finding mic?

i have a imac G5 and when i set the mic to "Line In" it doesn't pickup the mic i have plugged into the back....any ideas?
alpha_32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2006, 12:07 AM   #2
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

Yes. A Mac requires a line-level Mic (i.e amplified). Almost all PC headsets are unamplified.

So, your choices are:
1) Get a amplified headset
2) Get an analog signal amplifier
3) Get a Griffin iMic USB adapter
http://www.griffintechnology.com/products/imic2/
(These are also sold at CompUSA and I think Fry's as well)

Choice #3 is the best choice by far.

Wade
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.