Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-04-2005, 09:03 PM   #11
halprin
Member
 
halprin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston/Longview, Texas
Posts: 59
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shidarin
WoW is notorious for wiping out other applications Key Bind settings. WoW even wipes out your Expose settings!

Without enabling the Universal Access, you can also use any of the modifier keys (Command, Shift, Control, Tab, Option) as the PTT hotkey, and it will hold into WoW. Several of those keys are in constant use, but the Option and the Control key are usually free.

I set the Control key to be my PTT key, since I use th Option key for some flexbar events. I then binded the Control key to my middle mouse button using USB Overdrive (as it IS difficult to reach when doing the ASWD style) and viola, no UA issues, easy on mouse activation.
WoW no longer whipes out your Expose settings. But I don't need any Universal Access to make my PTT button to work. BTW, my PTT button is a side button on my Logitech MX 510 (It used to be control and it worked w/o Universal Access) and I didn't have to use USB overdrive. I just selected the field and pushed the button.
halprin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 10:24 PM   #12
shidarin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LA, CA
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by halprin
WoW no longer whipes out your Expose settings. But I don't need any Universal Access to make my PTT button to work. BTW, my PTT button is a side button on my Logitech MX 510 (It used to be control and it worked w/o Universal Access) and I didn't have to use USB overdrive. I just selected the field and pushed the button.
Odd, WoW wiped my Expose settings yesterday. Its not every startup, just mostly random.

And you're right, you don't need USB overdrive to map the button anymore! When I first Mac Vent, it was not working quite right without binding it to a key and then binding that key to a mousebutton. Thanks
shidarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 08:19 PM   #13
Riven
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
Default

I had this problem to and this fixed it up for me. Thanks so much!
Riven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2005, 05:11 AM   #14
CocoDaPuf
Junior Member
 
CocoDaPuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6
Default

First, HEY HALPRIN! what's up?

Second, have you actually gotten WoW to stop wiping out exposť settings? Cause it still does it every time I play the game.

Third, a huge thank you to everyone at vent, I'm happy to say I've gotten the client working and it's been a blast using it.

(edit)
One last quick question, is there any down-side to using universal access for PTT? What is that option actually doing?

Last edited by CocoDaPuf; 11-11-2005 at 05:16 AM.
CocoDaPuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2005, 10:17 AM   #15
Flagship
Administrator
 
Flagship's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some insignifcant planet.
Posts: 8,046
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CocoDaPuf
One last quick question, is there any down-side to using universal access for PTT? What is that option actually doing?
Not that I'm aware of. I have not seen any desktop issues and I have not noticed any problems while testing with RTCW.
__________________
Flagship Industries, Inc.
www.ventrilo.com
Flagship is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.