Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-20-2013, 02:35 AM   #11
Elphaba
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 6
Default

Nope I just installed the .pkg.zip for Vent. It's connected to gsm but to enable testing mode, it says I have to switch it to "none".
Elphaba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 05:05 AM   #12
fredpeterson543
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 5
Default

How to install a audio driver?
_________________________

Last edited by fredpeterson543; 07-31-2013 at 05:07 AM.
fredpeterson543 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 04:00 PM   #13
Jaycyn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 313
Default

You don't install audio drivers or codecs on the on Mac - speex support is built in.

Set your server to use Speex and your client will auto-configure for it.

Read about it here

http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=39590

item #1.
Jaycyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2014, 05:25 PM   #14
Bangle6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaycyn View Post
You don't install audio drivers or codecs on the on Mac - speex support is built in.

Set your server to use Speex and your client will auto-configure for it.

Read about it here

http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=39590

item #1.
I'm having the same issue, my clan uses vent and most of the users are PC players. I represent a very small minority a Mac users within the clan. In an attempt to improve the sound quality, the clan wants to move over to GSM 6.10, but I don't think I can. I'm stuck (and that's not a bad thing Speex)

My question is, is there a work around?
Bangle6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2014, 01:40 PM   #15
Jaycyn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 313
Default

Moving from Speex to GSM may actually lower the sound quality due to increased bandwidth.

You (or the vent account admin) would be better off tweaking the Speex settings on the Vent server to settings if you want better quality.

Please read this
http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=39590

items #2 and #3 for suggested settings.

All of the setting changes can be made on the Vent server and the clients will auto-adjust so it requires no effort or changes on the users end.

If they insist on GSM, you can use the Linux Vent client or install Windows on your Mac and run the Windows client. All of which are a pain and not really a good solution.

...I just had another thought: Codeweavers makes a product called Crossover, which allows you to run some Windows apps on your Mac without installing Windows. Looks like Ventrilo Windows client has been tested and works. I am unsure as to how the GSM codec is being handled though.

http://www.codeweavers.com/compatibi...me/?app_id=413

(edit: I said most of this in a prior, just saying it again for clarity)

Last edited by Jaycyn; 07-25-2014 at 01:51 PM.
Jaycyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.