Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2010, 06:10 PM   #1
dominiclaine
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Smile Robotic Voice

A mate of mine and I were trying to figure out why i kept going all robotic after a long sentence. We tried reloading my sound drivers and playing with the number of packets that were buffered before sending, none of which apperently worked, as we were about to give up i decided to change my microphones default format sample rates. I changed it to the worst you can have on windows 7 which just seemed to make it worse so i changed it to the highest instead, 2 channel, 16 bit, 48000hz, DVD quality and low and behold it now works perfectly fine. If using windows 7 you can find the settings by
Right clicking on the volume control, select recording devices, double click the microphone, click on the Advanced tab and change to the highest.

Hope this helps everyone
dominiclaine is offline  
Old 12-05-2010, 12:01 PM   #2
dominiclaine
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Please reply if this solution works for you
dominiclaine is offline  
Old 01-10-2011, 09:33 PM   #3
Valience
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
Default

i had this problem a while back, after I had bought an Xbox usb controller. I had also ripped by usb dongle out accidentally, so I figured that was the problem, and bought a new mic, but the new mic also was a robot. However, in a random stroke of thinking, I decided to plug in my powered usb port and try plugging the mic and gamepad into it instead of the mobo's usb, and everything works fine now. So, if you have a lot of stuff plugged into your computer's usb ports, I'd try a powered usb hub. Or just unplugging most of the crap if possible.
Code:
I had plugged in: Razer Gaming Mouse Razer Gaming Keyboard USB Controller USB Soundcard (upgraded to Yeti Microphone) Phone Charger iPod cable
Valience is offline  
Old 01-23-2011, 11:48 AM   #4
WidowmakerOSS
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
Default

My friend bought a new HP Pavilion Elite HPE-410y Desktop PC with a sound/audio High Definition 8-channel audio ALC 888S-VD chipset and she has the same problem we have tried all the things everyone has posted but can not seem to get it fix.
Does anyone have any other ideas any help would be very appreciated thank you in advanced.


WidowmakerOSS is offline  
Old 01-26-2011, 08:15 PM   #5
tgp1994
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5
Default

My headset/microphone also does a strange robotic voice-sounding effect, although my differing setup seems to be the cause - according to my searching, it seems that my Xbox 360 controller for Windows is actually causing the issue, apparently to too much strain on the USB hub (or something of that nature). However, this only occurs when I use my Windows XP operating system. When I dual-boot into my Windows Vista OS, everything works fine, so I would actually lean on a driver issue.

Unfortunately, my headset uses default Windows USB Audio device drivers, so I am unable to update anything from the manufacturer's (Dynex)'s website.
tgp1994 is offline  
Old 03-14-2011, 03:52 PM   #6
Ahri1985
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Default

My question doesn't go under the robot that is mentioned here but i don't know where else to post so here I go....

I play World of Warcraft (WoW) well as long as I am not in-game or I minimize my screen to the desktop everyone in my guild can hear me. But when I am in-game nobody can hear me. I can hear them crystal clear. Does anyone know how to fix this problem. I have tried uninstalling Vent and reinstalling it. And it is still not working please help I have a raid tonight.
Ahri1985 is offline  
Old 03-19-2011, 10:44 AM   #7
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,340
Default

@ ahri

try setting both Vent and any online game to ‘Run As Administrator’ (rt-click their icon / properties / compatibility tab / privilege level) or (rt-click their icon and select 'Run as Adminitrator')
Prog-Rocker is offline  
Old 04-10-2011, 01:53 PM   #8
Avi1231
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Israel
Posts: 1
Default

I'm getting this issue and I had it on another computer I was using for a bit. Basically, my friends said I sound like a messed up robot and after installing the proper realtek driver on the other computer it was perfect. Then on this pc the onboard audio's driver won't install and my research turns up that the built in win 7 driver is sufficient but I can't get this problem to go away. I've even tested with the windows function of listening to the mic and I sound crystal clear. This seems related to vent. I haven't even gotten to trying to do it while playing a game. Any ideas?
Avi1231 is offline  
Old 04-13-2011, 06:26 AM   #9
Pyrah
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 3
Question I hear someone in ventrilo as static but nobody else does how do i fix this?

I hear someone in ventrilo as static but nobody else does how do i fix this?

in my vent there is one guy who when he talks i hear 2 words then he cuts out to a robot... the thing is to the rest of the people in vent he does not... how would i fix this? ive checked the FAQ for vent and searched the web but i cant find anything relating to this since i am the only one who hears the static...
Pyrah is offline  
Old 04-25-2011, 05:29 AM   #10
Pyrah
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyrah View Post
I hear someone in ventrilo as static but nobody else does how do i fix this?

in my vent there is one guy who when he talks i hear 2 words then he cuts out to a robot... the thing is to the rest of the people in vent he does not... how would i fix this? ive checked the FAQ for vent and searched the web but i cant find anything relating to this since i am the only one who hears the static...
Is some1 be able to fix this?
Pyrah is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.