Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2009, 07:47 PM   #1
AntiKorper Viral
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Default GSM and my clan vent.

It is possible to receive all of the Codecs for the Mac and stuff If I am able to put it on crossover?

And if yes how?

My clan has a server that is GSM only and I don't feel like renting a server nor asking them for a multicodec server that is just too much money for the budget. Please help!!!
AntiKorper Viral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 03:09 PM   #2
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,340
Default

the server can be configured to have individual channels set to use the speex codec. a server admin can setup the channel from the client without having to reset the server. it doesn't cost extra.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 10:40 AM   #3
AntiKorper Viral
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prog-Rocker View Post
the server can be configured to have individual channels set to use the speex codec. a server admin can setup the channel from the client without having to reset the server. it doesn't cost extra.
One of them just did that and then they can't hear me. I could hear then but they could not hear me. WTF any advice to give to my GM?
AntiKorper Viral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 01:26 PM   #4
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

What kind of mic are you using?
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 12:44 PM   #5
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,340
Default

Quote:
If the server in general does not support speex, the channel settings for speex most likely won't work. Its not your mic problem.
not a true statement!!!!

the server can support multiple channel codecs at the same time regardless of the main codec setting.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 06:05 PM   #6
yummyummtheman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1
Default

I have had the issue with my cousin; he is on a computer with XP and whenever he is in a speex channel it completely jacks his transmissions.

I am on Windows 7 64bit edition, and recently reformatted and reinstalled Windows completely.

After the reformat I had the same problem as my cousin. This suggested that it might be a driver issue, more specifically a sound card driver issue. My hunch paid off, and speex channels are working correctly again.

Before installing the drivers I verified the issue by placing myself and three friends in a speex channel. They were unable to hear me. After the drivers were installed and the computer was reformatted, we retried it to instant success.

I don't recall my cousins motherboard or soundcard, but I am using EVGA's 780i motherboard with onboard Realtek sound.

Hope this helps, as I've been occasionally browsing to find fixes for this for months.
yummyummtheman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.