Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-01-2009, 01:53 PM   #31
sriggins
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Default

What is most frustrating is not having any replies from Ventrilo staff.

Do any of them have this issue?
sriggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2009, 01:10 PM   #32
sriggins
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Default

I've been running some tests on 10.6 and here is what I've found:

My best buy headset goes robo, and sometimes I have to unplug it to fix the issue.

My griffin imic with normal headset never goes robo. Tried it for 2+ days, never once did it go weird.

So it looks like the change in 10.5.8 possibly affected a certain range of products, perhaps that use a common chipset for usb?
sriggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2009, 07:11 PM   #33
Bethany
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Can you go into a little bit more detail of how you have your set up done that prevents the Robotic voice? I saw you said you used a Griffin iMic and looking at it online at other sites I'm a little bit confused as to exactly what to do with it. Will I be able to plug my headset's mic input into the iMic instead of the USB dongle thing it came with my headset?
Bethany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 01:25 PM   #34
sriggins
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Default

Yeah, the iMic just has a line/headphone in and a headphone out.

I won't guarantee it works for you, but it seems to be working fine here.

And for all I know, different versions of imics might use different chipsets. I've reported this data to Apple to try and help find a real solution.
sriggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2009, 02:34 PM   #35
Bethany
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Well, ordered ($60) it and it arrived. Seemed to fix the problem for about 40 minutes in, and then Robo.... I just wanna cry...
Bethany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 04:24 PM   #36
Jaycyn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 313
Default

I have started an official thread on Apple's discussion forums about this topic. Please feel free to post.


http://discussions.apple.com/thread....3236&#10243236
Jaycyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 10:40 AM   #37
nidawi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
Default

We've been having the same problem - same issues as above. Really annoying! Disconnecting can help the situation, but only very briefly. It's become almost impossible to use at this point.
nidawi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 04:19 PM   #38
Jaycyn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 313
Default

Some possibly good news here

http://forums.worldofwarcraft.com/th...36602117&sid=1

However, don't get your hopes up quite yet.
Jaycyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 11:49 AM   #39
Jaycyn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 313
Default

10.6.2 = No love.

10.6.2 Robotic sounds continue. In fact, I think they became worse.

Before, I could disconnect from the server and immediately reconnect. Now I am having to quit totally out of Vent, start it back up, reconnect. Took me four times last night to finally clear it up.

Jaycyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 04:37 PM   #40
Shinchook
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
Default

I'm running a mac pro and having he same issue as everyone else. Any ideas yet?
Shinchook is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.