Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-12-2008, 06:22 PM   #1
decayedbrain
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 5
Unhappy Ventrilo and World of Warcraft - Avast Users Please Read

I recently bought a new computer, a Dell Inspiron 530, to replace my old, outdated, crappy eMachines T3065. On that computer, I could manage to play WoW and run an AIM voice chat session with a friend at the same time, with no problem excluding worries that my computer would crash. Now, on this much better computer, AIM breaks up and lags while we're both on WoW, and, after trying Vent, it also lags like there's no tomorrow. I know it's not my internet connection, because my browser is speedy. The ports are set up to allow WoW through my firewalls; the router is set up to run Ventrilo and WoW. Ventrilo usually works for a little while, while both of us are playing WoW, then it will begin to mess up. I've tried different audio codecs in Vent, and those have not worked at all. If I'm on by myself, it works fine, even when one of those two programs are running. Any suggestions? My current sound cards are an ATI HD Audio Rear Output version 5.0 and RealTek HD Audio Output version 5.10. I think those are my sound cards/controllers; I've searched my computer and for some reason it tells me I have multiple audio devices.
decayedbrain is offline  
Old 04-12-2008, 10:08 PM   #2
mjgraf
Senior Member
 
mjgraf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some say in my own little world
Posts: 15,502
Default

what is your actual bandwidth, www.speedtest.net
what is the server codec and format?
how many people are sharing this connection?
are you using any torrents?
mjgraf is offline  
Old 04-12-2008, 11:13 PM   #3
decayedbrain
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 5
Default

My bandwidth, according to that site, is 2617kbs d/l 278kbs upload with like a 55ms ping. Changing the format and codec didn't do anything, I tried most of them. 2 people are sharing this connection, and they are using the server, not my actual connection. And to my knowledge, I'm not running any torrents, nor have I downloaded any.
decayedbrain is offline  
Old 04-12-2008, 11:47 PM   #4
decayedbrain
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 5
Default

The codec is set to zero and the voice format is set to zero as well. Like I said, I've tried many others and they haven't made much difference.
decayedbrain is offline  
Old 04-13-2008, 02:02 AM   #5
SolidSnake3035
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 28
Default

Hate to break it to you, but your connection is pretty bad.

That may not be what the problem is, however it seems very likely.

Although from what you've said it seems that it was working previously on a different computer... hmm... :-/
SolidSnake3035 is offline  
Old 04-13-2008, 06:21 PM   #6
decayedbrain
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 5
Default

I'm very sure that it's not my connection because, as you mentioned, WoW and AIM could interact harmoniously on a crappier computer, and this one's a lot better.
decayedbrain is offline  
Old 04-14-2008, 11:44 AM   #7
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,340
Default

what OS are you running?
are the soundcard drivers up to date? (check dell's website)
how are aim/vent if they run by themselves?
Prog-Rocker is offline  
Old 04-14-2008, 08:23 PM   #8
decayedbrain
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 5
Default

I'm running Windows XP Home Edition, and I don't see why the drivers would be old as this is a brand new computer. AIM and Ventrilo run completely fine on their own.
decayedbrain is offline  
Old 04-14-2008, 10:42 PM   #9
Kucuro
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Um left and up of there
Posts: 2
Default

You wouldn't happen to have Avast 4.8 installed? There seems to be an issue with WOW and Vent with Avast.
Kucuro is offline  
Old 04-16-2008, 02:12 PM   #10
damnificus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3
Default

This is interesting because it is happening to my wife as of now. I'm hoping that it is the same problem, but while we play World of Warcraft, her Ventrilo suffers from a lot of "lag" which makes either of these 2 problems happen:

1- When someone speaks, all of a sudden, that person's voice becomes a broken record and repeats itself multiple times for about 15 seconds.

2- After the 1rst problem arose, everything that was said during that time rushes up all together and creates a giant cacophony of voices talking fast all on top of each other. Then everything turns back to normal for a few minutes until problem 1 happens again.

We have identified that whichever Ventrilo channel or server she is using, this still happens from time to time. although, when we play with large groups, it happens very frequently.

She doesn't have the top of the line computer, but this problem did not appear until only recently. (I could say either since WoW patch 2.4, or ventrilo 3.0) Our internet connection is a high speed cable connection, shared with a -N lynksys router, cabled. The interesting part in this is that I do not share the same problem as her.

***I have just read Kucuro's comment, and to my surprise, we do have Avast 4.8 installed on our computers. I will try to uninstall it and see if that does anything and I will post again if it worked or not.

Any other suggestions would help a lot.
Thank you.
damnificus is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.