Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2008, 06:42 PM   #1
jestrjk
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
Default Clicking Sound when engaging Push to Talk

Hi!

There are a couple of threads floating around here regarding a "rapid clicking" sound when pushing to talk. Id like to share my experience and final solution to this issue.

OS: Windows XP Pro - 64bit

Symptoms:
- Pressing push to talk would be clear for a very short time after a reboot or audio driver/device change.
- Shortly after the clear period, when ever i pressed push to talk a medium volume rapid clicking or tapping sound would occur.
- Others could hear this clicking, but i could not
- Restarting Vent or orther applications would not work
- Reinstalling sound drivers would clear it for a short period < 5 min
- Rebooting cleared it for < 5 minutes
- the change came on suddenly, after 2+years of the same setup, same vent etc except for:
- I moved my machine from the floor to the top of the desk. In doing so i plugged in my USB items into different ports.

Controls used for push to talk :
- Logitech MX1000 Mouse
- Every button tested, with and without the Logitech SetPoint drivers
- Logitech G15 keyboard
- Lots of keys tested, but not all.

Audio Device Combinations: ( note: i tried EVERY combination possible of the below )

- Onboard SoundMax HD Audio ( Asus p5b plus )
- Latest and Next to latest drivers
- Sound Blaster Audigy SE
- Latets and Next to latest drivers
- 2 identical logitech desktop USB mics
- Senheiser stereo jack head phones ( no mic )
- logitech stereo jack headphone/mic set

The problem has appeared to have been solved by one of two things, or maybe a combo of both:

1. I have a USB hub in my monitor, which i did not plug back in when i moved the computer. I plugged in the USB mic into the hub, and re attached the hub to the computer.

2. I reinstalled my windows audio codecs from : http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en

The clicking has not returned.

Hope i help someone. Thanks.
jestrjk is offline  
Old 02-07-2008, 11:46 AM   #2
MonKENy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: California...but born in Connecticut
Posts: 19
Default

did you uncheck "play key clicks" under setup?

sorry-misread the post, thought you were asking for help lol. well this would be the first step in anycase!
MonKENy is offline  
Old 02-14-2008, 07:19 PM   #3
masterkaj
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 8
Default

What about vista? I am using Vista 64 bit and I am having the same problem. It started to happen after I installed BF2, but now I can't get it to go away, even after uninstallation.

Would like to see an answer to this, I know it's not my mic, it works fine on my friends XP setup. I have seen other posts around here, just wondering what the fix is for vista? Is it the same as the XP fix (even though that codec system requirement does not state Vista)? I haven't tried it yet because it isn't a vista codec.

My Setup:

Creative X-Fi Fatality Gamer
Logitech USB Mic
Vista Home Premium 64 bit

Last edited by masterkaj; 02-14-2008 at 07:39 PM.
masterkaj is offline  
Old 02-26-2008, 12:22 AM   #4
whytewolf
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Same exact problem..same specs here too. Been using push to talk and others hear a clicking..squeaking sound after i'm done talking...going to have to make another thread on it.
whytewolf is offline  
Old 03-20-2008, 12:03 PM   #5
Authorious
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
Default

ok simple soultion to that anoying constant beeping when u push the hotkey when the game is not open:


Go to Start,
Then Control Panel,
Click the Sound, Speach and Audio Devices icon, then Sound and Audio Devices (or if u have classic view: Click on Sound and Audio Devices),
In the new window that pops up, click on the "Sounds" Tab at the top.
Then u should see in the window under Program Events a box with events such as: Asterisk, Close Program, Critical Battery Alarm etc.

Look for the one that says: Default Beep.

Click on it and then below under Sounds: change it to None (It should have been on XP Ding)

Enjoy.
Authorious is offline  
Old 05-23-2008, 04:10 AM   #6
wylker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Ok the problem is definitely with Vista compatibility. I have the same clicking problem. I have verified that it is not my headset by recording sound on another application as well as using ventrilo on another PC. I have the same vent build on both PCs (one with XP pro and one with Vista Ultimate 64). I have tried reinstalling codecs, reinstalling audio drivers, I have tried a completely different USB headset on both PCs, again the XP machine is fine and the Vista machine has a steady clicking sound.

Here are my settings:

1) Vista Ultimate 64
2) Realtek HD Audio onboard Gigabyte P35DS3 Mobo
2a) Used both a Plantronics DSP-500 USB Headset and my backup cheapo Dynex brand USB headset.
3) All attempted applications also when not playing anything
4)

Last edited by wylker; 05-23-2008 at 04:12 AM.
wylker is offline  
Old 05-23-2008, 09:56 AM   #7
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,340
Default

couple things to try,

set 'discard hotkey' , or different combinations of that and 'use directinput'

plug headset into mobo usb port.

unplug all un-needed usb devices just to test.

try installing the 64bit of vent.
Prog-Rocker is offline  
Old 05-23-2008, 11:03 AM   #8
wylker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prog-Rocker View Post
couple things to try,

set 'discard hotkey' , or different combinations of that and 'use directinput'
Interesting idea, but it did not help.

Quote:
plug headset into mobo usb port.
It is, it is in USB0

Quote:
unplug all un-needed usb devices just to test.
All that is connected is my keyboard, mouse, and headset.

Quote:
try installing the 64bit of vent.
Sorry I meant to put this in my original reply. I have tried both the 64 and 32 bit clients and had identical results.
wylker is offline  
Old 05-23-2008, 01:52 PM   #9
wylker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6
Default

I found a potential fix here:

http://blog.tmcnet.com/blog/tom-keat...blem-fixed.asp

He references and links some hotfix for USB audio devices, I can't test it until later.
wylker is offline  
Old 05-24-2008, 10:35 AM   #10
wylker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wylker View Post
I found a potential fix here:

http://blog.tmcnet.com/blog/tom-keat...blem-fixed.asp

He references and links some hotfix for USB audio devices, I can't test it until later.

Update: This hotfix would not install on a fully updated Vista x64 OS. So still looking for a fix.
wylker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.