Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-07-2006, 05:03 PM   #1
Feebb
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
Default PTT with Vista

Has anyone found a fix/workaround yet for the PTT key not working unless the Ventrilo window has focus with Windows Vista?
I'm running EQ2 and I can't talk unless the Vent window is open on the sesktop, which means I have to run EQ2 in a window.
Thanks,
Feebb
Feebb is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 06:51 PM   #2
Crombie
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
Default

having the same issue here. I can not talk in vent at all with EQ2 running on vista unless vent window has focus. All other games apps I have tried I am not having the issue. So only with EQ2
Crombie is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 03:02 PM   #3
Feebb
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Solution Found...
Right click on your Ventrilo shortcut and choose "properties". Open the "compatibility" tab and hear the bottom check "run the program as an administrator". Click "apply" and "ok" and you're done.

Last edited by mjgraf; 07-16-2007 at 09:31 PM.
Feebb is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 03:33 PM   #4
mjgraf
Senior Member
 
mjgraf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some say in my own little world
Posts: 15,502
Default

very interesting it required that setting.
sticky
mjgraf is offline  
Old 09-23-2006, 06:22 AM   #5
NashTax
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 2
Default

Nice find
NashTax is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 03:21 PM   #6
stmckin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Default

Vista RC2 is out as of yesterday and PTT / Ventrilo works without modification.

Previously, key / button presses were restricted to the focused application unless it was administrative, at least with Ventrilo that is fixed now
stmckin is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 09:50 AM   #7
Mr_Butter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stmckin
Vista RC2 is out as of yesterday and PTT / Ventrilo works without modification.

Previously, key / button presses were restricted to the focused application unless it was administrative, at least with Ventrilo that is fixed now
blarg still not with me ><

I cant even get it to work, it's as if it wasnt recognizing my mic. My green light never flashes, ive tried multiple hotkeys, none work. And when I go to monitor or test nothing happens. (as in NOTHING. Not even 0 or anything)

EDIT: Actually I've searched a bit and apparently we need soundcard drivers installed.
Mr_Butter is offline  
Old 12-21-2006, 03:07 PM   #8
urzathegreat
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_Butter View Post
blarg still not with me ><

I cant even get it to work, it's as if it wasnt recognizing my mic. My green light never flashes, ive tried multiple hotkeys, none work. And when I go to monitor or test nothing happens. (as in NOTHING. Not even 0 or anything)

EDIT: Actually I've searched a bit and apparently we need soundcard drivers installed.
I am having same issues with my PTT key.. I've also tried multiple keys and nothing is working.

I am also running Windows Vista. It's curious because I had it working perfectly fine for a couple months now and all of a sudden its refusing to cooperate with me.. anyone have any ideas?
urzathegreat is offline  
Old 01-01-2007, 01:29 AM   #9
thadigitaldj
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 23
Default

Are you all using a common key as the PTT button? Does this button already have a function assigned to it in Windows or the game you are playing?
thadigitaldj is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 04:06 PM   #10
phobes
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 67
Default

I believe part of the problem is, Windows Vista has per-application volume control. From what I've seen, Ventrilo tries to change the volume for the entire system, which Vista doesn't like very much.

Running Ventrilo as an Administrator, while disabling the "Allow applications to take exclusive control of this device," (Under the sound configuration for my Microphone) seems to work, for the most part.

When I start my system up, the mic volume level is max. As soon as I start Ventrilo, it lowers my Microphone's volume to 0%. After setting the mic volume back to 100%, if I open Setup for Ventrilo, it brings it back down to 0%.


I've had no issues regarding PTT or Sensitivity. I think the issue is with the volume management.

Edit: I've tested this with 2.3.0 and 2.3.2 Beta 2 with the same exact results. Running Vista RC1 Build 5600.

Last edited by phobes; 01-19-2007 at 04:08 PM.
phobes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.