Ventrilo Tech Support

Ventrilo Tech Support (http://forum.ventrilo.com/index.php)
-   Macintosh Client (http://forum.ventrilo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Vent works only when it is active window? (http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=40514)

timelady 11-19-2009 07:17 AM

Vent works only when it is active window?
 
Just an easy question I hope!

Vent is working fine - only when Vent is the active window.

When I switch to World of Warcraft window, Vent in the background doesn't detect my sound (either with key click or constant sound on). So my guildmates have been using Vent while I use the WoW in-game party voice. Some guild people don't have WoW voice sound on so they can't all hear me. (not good when I scream for help! haha! squishy healer) Guildies are all PC people so can't help me.

Any tips? My universal access settings do have devices enabled.

Cheers.

Prog-Rocker 11-19-2009 09:15 AM

what version of vent and mac operating system are you running?

are you using the onboard input or a usb headset?

in vent setup, is the input device set to the name of the audio device you're using?

what key are you using for ptt? is that key mapped to any in-game or mod function?


Let's Hear It For All Squishies... :) YAY!!!!

Infelicity 12-07-2009 08:52 PM

I am also having this problem
 
Vent works fine for me on a mac but whilst i can hear everyone i can only talk if vent is the active window. I am not that clever when it comes to technical aspects of programs etc so if anyone can explain how to fix this please use simple instructions tyvm

Jaycyn 12-08-2009 12:49 PM

Check out #8 in the Vent Mac Troubleshooting: Start Here thread and see if that helps.

Infelicity 12-10-2009 05:50 PM

Thank you for pointing me in the right direction. Vent now works GREAT whether it is the active window or not!

oopsI'mdead 04-01-2010 07:44 PM

same problem but running XP Home Premium on a PC
 
I have the exact same problem - Vent works fine as the front window but as soon as I minimze it so I can play on WoW I can no longer speak or hear others. I've tried running Vent as admin, I've tested all hardware, I've unchecked the setting that lets applications take control of my hardware. The last one worked for a short while.

Interestingly, Vent USED to work just fine with WoW, on this system, with this hardware.

I'm baffled... an ideas are welcome :o

Prog-Rocker 04-01-2010 11:55 PM

@oops*

what OS are you running?

what key are you using for PTT?

oopsI'mdead 04-02-2010 09:43 AM

Hi! I'm running Windows Vista Home Premium, 64 bit. I have the 64 bit version of the Vent client. I'm using Alt as my PTT key - I set Vent to this as I use Ctrl for game functions. Alt works fine, too, as long as I have Vent maximized as the front window. Everything stops when I minimize Vent. I've been looking through forums and checked several settings, my devices are enabled, everything is on direct sound, and I just tried setting priority to high. Um, I'd attach screenshots but I haven't figured out how yet...:D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.