Ventrilo Tech Support

Ventrilo Tech Support (http://forum.ventrilo.com/index.php)
-   Macintosh Client (http://forum.ventrilo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   MSG: Contacting Server (http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=40502)

irfman 11-18-2009 11:29 AM

MSG: Contacting Server
 
I have been able to connect to ventrilo fine until the past 2 weeks...No matter what IP/Hostname i connect to I get the '? MSG: Contacting Server' error...I have applied all the suggestion that I have found by searching through dozens of help forums....I have tried turning off my Firewall, Port forwarding, triple checked IP/Hostnames and ports, uninstalling and reinstalling Ventrilo, restarting my router and computer... None of the methods worked, I Still get the same error '? MSG: Contacting Server'

Sorry to bother u people but I am tired of looking through forums to solve this problem. Please if anyone knows how to fix this...post me a step-by-step method to fix it.

OS information:
I use a 15" MacBook Pro
Mac OSX
Snow Leopard
Version 10.6.1


Image Before Connection

[IMG]http://img402.**********.us/img402/8656/screenshot20091118at111.png[/IMG]



Image After Connection
[IMG]http://img233.**********.us/img233/8656/screenshot20091118at111.png[/IMG]

Prog-Rocker 11-18-2009 03:11 PM

can you connect to this test server:

frost.pure-voice.net
port=3784 no password

can you telnet to either your server or the test server?

open a terminal session

telnet frost.pure-voice.net 3784

or

telnet <your server> <port# for that server>

you should see a message that says: connected to <server>
otherwise you will see: unable to connect to remote host

irfman 11-18-2009 07:51 PM

I tried connecting to the server you gave me through ventrilo but I got the same error '? MSG: Contacting server'
But when I telnet to the test server it worked and I got the following response:

irfan-mohammeds-macbook-pro:~ IrfMan$ telnet frost.pure-voice.net 3784
Trying 216.86.155.108...
Connected to frost.pure-voice.net.
Escape character is '^]'.
Connection closed by foreign host.
irfan-mohammeds-macbook-pro:~ IrfMan$


P.S. Sorry but I do not know why the pictures didn't show up. ill just post links

Before Connecting
http://img42.yfrog.com/i/screenshot20091118at111.png/

After Connecting
http://img7.yfrog.com/i/screenshot20091118at111.png/

Jaycyn 11-19-2009 01:40 PM

An easy way to test it is to go to a known good hosting company and use their demo.

First: Quit the Ventrilo Application.

Then go here

http://www.darkstarllc.com/services/ventrilo-servers/

Down the right hand side in the Ventrilo Locations area, click the DEMO button next to a server that is near you.

What should happen is that your Ventrilo Application should start up and connect to their server.

You can then quit Vent and get back to us with the result of that test, either it connected or did something else,

irfman 11-20-2009 01:33 AM

I tried that out still getting the same response "? MSG: Contacting Server"

Prog-Rocker 11-20-2009 11:18 AM

can you hook the mac directly to the modem, or put it in the DMZ section of the router?

if you hook directly to the modem you will have to power off the modem for 60 seconds.

irfman 11-21-2009 12:23 PM

what do you mean hook it directly to the modem?
like connect it to the router using an ethernet cable or smthng?

And I have no idea what the DMZ section of the router is...
Can you please explain more clearly step by step
Thanks

Jaycyn 11-21-2009 06:40 PM

This is more information about that connection in the Mac Troubleshooting thread - check that out and let us know if you need more information and also let us know the result.

wearelegion83 07-03-2010 12:34 AM

i was having the same problem but i connected to the frost server(chicago IL)? and i did the demo Darkstarllc and both worked for me. I was the only one in them(hopefully thats right). but i tried having people connect to the server that im hosting. The IP im using is one out of network utility.. which is different from what ventrilo.com says is my IP. My server is up and running apparently because i verified it there.. so i dunno.

Jaycyn 07-06-2010 01:26 PM

Yes - you would be the only one in the Darkstar test server. Sounds like your Vent client is set up and working properly.

Now that being said, *hosting* a vent server is a whole different story.

Your internal network IP address (Found in network utility) will be different than your external Internet ip address which means that if you want someone to connect to your vent server over the internet, you have to give them the Internet IP address, not the one in Network Utility.

Secondly, you will need to adjust the settings on your router to route internet traffic that connects via vents port number to your servers internal IP address. I believe its:

TCP 3784
UDP 3784,6100

Another issue will arise if you don't have a static IP address i.e. if it's dynamic it means it could change at any time, so if you give folks your internet IP address today, it could be different tomorrow.

If you need help with the server side of things, head on over to the Server Forums and check out the Vent Server Macintosh Setup for some hints.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.