Ventrilo Tech Support

Ventrilo Tech Support (http://forum.ventrilo.com/index.php)
-   Macintosh Client (http://forum.ventrilo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Ventrilo no text fields (http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=3628070)

nachozzz 02-20-2014 04:20 PM

Ventrilo no text fields
 
I am having an issue with Ventrilo on a brand new Mac computer with OS X 10.9.1 where no text fields are shown. I have tried the following:

- Restarting the computer
- Re-installing Ventrilo
- Deleting Ventrilo configuration settings in ~/Library/Preferences
- Enabling Accessibility options for Ventrilo
- Copying ventrilo2.ini from another working computer
- Copying Ventrilo.app from another working computer

Here's a video showing the problem:
http://youtu.be/b-Oi7r4eBcs

Any ideas?

Prog-Rocker 02-20-2014 05:24 PM

thx for the video.

are you running any 3rd party firewall-anitvirus-spyware apps?

in system preferences, did you make any changes in parental controls or security

can you access the vent log file for any errors?
ctrl-clik > view > log file. check for the latest date

Jaycyn 02-20-2014 05:50 PM

Oh Oh... Do you have Onyx or Tinkertool installed? I saw a similar issue just the other day when those apps were installed.

Do you have your System Appearance set to Graphite as it looks like you are running 10.7, not 10.9. Was the OS on the Mac updated from 10.7 or 10.8 to 10.9? (System Preferences->General->Appearance)

nachozzz 02-20-2014 06:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Prog-Rocker (Post 4062191)
are you running any 3rd party firewall-anitvirus-spyware apps?

Only Little Snitch. I already made a default-allow policy for Ventrilo, but just to confirm things, I went ahead and completely disabled Little Snitch and re-installed Ventrilo. No change.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Prog-Rocker (Post 4062191)
any changes in parental controls or security

Nope.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Prog-Rocker (Post 4062191)
vent log file for any errors

Yeah, here's the entire log file:
Code:

20140220 17:52:42 Unable to open password file.
What password file is it referring to?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jaycyn (Post 4062200)
Do you have Onyx or Tinkertool installed?

Nope.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jaycyn (Post 4062200)
System Appearance set to Graphite?

Yes, it was set to 'Graphite'. The system is 10.9.1. I tried setting it to 'Blue' re-logged and re-installed, no change.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jaycyn (Post 4062200)
Was the OS on the Mac updated from 10.7 or 10.8 to 10.9?

Fresh install of 10.9.0.

Prog-Rocker 02-21-2014 07:24 AM

can you post screenshots of the activity monitor app. select cpu then clik on the 'process name' to sort by name.

utilities > activity monitor

Jaycyn 02-21-2014 01:38 PM

I see your mouse cursor is highlighting with a circle when clicking...

1) Do you have OmniDazzle installed? If so, remove it totally and restart, reinstall Vent.

If that doesn't work...

2) Ok try this - and a total shot in the dark here. Open Font Book, which is located in Applications->Font Book

If says there are duplicate fonts, resolve them

If not, go the the Edit Menu and select Look For Enabled Duplicates. It may tell you there are no dups (as they were resolved by starting Font Book).

Quit Font Book and restart. Reinstall Vent.


If that does't work

3) Start up Font Book again. Once started go to File Menu and select Restore Standard fonts and proceed through the process. Since this is a clean install it shouldn't really disable any fonts. restart, reinstall Vent.

Jaycyn 02-21-2014 01:47 PM

Three more thoughts:

1) Repair Disk Permissions using Disk Utility, restart, resinstall vent

2) If you have CandyBar installed, remove it

3) Create a new user account on the Mac (System Preferences->Users & Groups then the plus button) restart and log into the new user account. Download a clean copy of Vent and install.

nachozzz 02-21-2014 06:59 PM

Alright, issue resolved!

Seems it was a font issue. I admit, I did copy over a number of fonts from another computer. After fiddling around with removing duplicate fonts (there were a number of them) and restoring standard fonts, I got my text fields back in Ventrilo.

Unfortunately I did both steps at once, so I'm not sure which one it was specifically, but I would like to believe it was probably restoring standard fonts.

Thanks for the help guys, and props to Jaycyn for all the suggestions!

Jaycyn 02-21-2014 07:19 PM

Fabulous!

Glad that fixed it!

Prog-Rocker 02-24-2014 11:01 AM

@jaycyn

excellent call on the font issue. i never would have suspected the fonts would keep a simple text entry box from displaying.

thanks again for your help


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.