Ventrilo Tech Support

Ventrilo Tech Support (http://forum.ventrilo.com/index.php)
-   Server (http://forum.ventrilo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Can't connect to my server (http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=34910)

magnum1 01-24-2009 02:00 AM

Can't connect to my server
 
Last week the program was working fine, I could host and friends could join.
Now, I can't join my own server and my friends could. Yet while attempting to fix this problem, my friends nor myself could join my server.

I've uninstalled both the client and server and re-installed them ... still did not work
I've shut my firewall off ....still did not work
I've uninstalled my security ....still did not work
I've re-installe my security ... still did not work
I've removed and re-allowed Firewall Rules for Ventrilo ...still did not work
I've rebooted my computer and I did recieve a message that a TCP port could not be located. (not sure what this means)

I can join onto other servers.

I'm not much of a computer wizard but I've tried all the things I can think of.



Can you suggest something.

Prog-Rocker 01-24-2009 09:52 AM

for the TCP error message, either another program is using port 3784 or the vent server is already running. reboot the pc, before starting the server check taskmanager for ventrilo_srv.exe

magnum1 01-26-2009 07:03 AM

Still unable to sign on
 
I checked my task manager, no other Ventrilo program is running.

Did I mention that my service is through a Seimens SE567 router. Could the settings in there need to be reset.?

Prog-Rocker 01-26-2009 09:57 AM

what's the exact wording of the error message?

magnum1 01-27-2009 08:36 PM

I can't recall what the error message said other than what I mentioned earlier.

Last night I had to shut my firewall off to join someone else's server.

After the Ventrilo client showed my friend hosting a session, I could go back and turn my firewall on and it would allow me to join him.

But I still am unable to host a session.

My server shows ready, yet my client window doesn't recognize the connection.

Prog-Rocker 01-28-2009 10:33 AM

did you configure your router for portforwarding?

http://www.portforward.com/english/r...outerindex.htm

magnum1 01-29-2009 02:09 AM

Not 100% sure how to do that. I'm using a Seimens se567. Can you provide me with some instructions. I know how to log on and get into the firewall settings, but not sure what to change once there.

Prog-Rocker 01-29-2009 09:12 AM

find your router make/model here: http://www.portforward.com/english/r...outerindex.htm

then select ventrilo server in the next screen.

note: this site only shows adding port 3784. you must also create an entry for port 6100 UDP

magnum1 01-30-2009 01:42 PM

I changed my port TCp to 3784 and the other port to 6100. Apllied. tried to open a session - negatvie results. i rebooted my computer and tried it, still negative results.

If I turn my firewall off, open my ventrilo cleint, turn my firewall back on, I then can join some else's session. This can be done before I changed the ports 3784 and 6100.

Prog-Rocker 01-30-2009 02:33 PM

what are you using for the server ipaddress in your client config?

are you running the client on the same pc as the server?

does the LAN ipaddress of the server pc match what's configured in the portforwarding ipaddress on the router?

does the status page see your server? - http://ventrilo.com/status.php


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.