Ventrilo Tech Support

Ventrilo Tech Support (http://forum.ventrilo.com/index.php)
-   Windows Client (http://forum.ventrilo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Major Issue: Ventrilo freezes PC (~30seconds at a time, mouse not frozen) (http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=27233)

Titanius 03-01-2008 02:45 PM

Major Issue: Ventrilo freezes PC (~30seconds at a time, mouse not frozen)
 
Hello, I recently purchased a new laptop (Windows Vista) and it hangs be working wonderfully. The only problem I have run into so far is with Ventrilo.

When I open Ventrilo all is well until I either connect, go into settings, or try to exit. Each of the three cause everything on my laptop to stop working (besides the mouse though I can't click) for about twenty to thirty seconds.

If I connect I can here everyone just fine but if I try to goto setup to customize it so I can actually use it it does the lockup again. I tried the hold down Ctrl to disable mixers and it still froze for the 20-30 seconds and then the popup saying mixers are disabled showed.

Edit: It only freezes on close if you close while connected, but still freezes on setup on both connected and not connected.
I have looked around quite a bit and have tried changing sound options, updating drivers, uninstalling codecs that might have interfered but nothing has helped.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Titanius

Titanius 03-02-2008 12:52 PM

I really need to fix this problem, I can't use Ventrilo at the moment and I need to for my clan.

Thanks,
Titanius

mjgraf 03-02-2008 02:35 PM

could you provide more details about the hardware? sound card, etc. laptop make and model.

Titanius 03-02-2008 04:21 PM

Here is a link to the exact laptop : http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....=1196470439579

Prog-Rocker 03-03-2008 01:31 PM

set the vent icon to 'run as administrator'

check HP's website for audio driver updates

try temp disabling the onboard web cam

in vent setup, set both input/output device to altec lansing and try with 'use direct sound'

Titanius 03-03-2008 03:13 PM

I tried all of that and still no luck. :(

Prog-Rocker 03-03-2008 04:56 PM

have you tried uninstalling, delete the %appdata%\ventrilo folder then re-installing (make a note of your servers ipaddresses/port#s first)

Titanius 03-03-2008 09:46 PM

Tried it, no difference. :( This really sucks.

Prog-Rocker 03-04-2008 02:19 PM

try un-installing the soundcard driver, reboot, re-install the soundcard driver

Titanius 03-04-2008 04:21 PM

Seemed to help because the setup opened right away and it connected with no freeze, but now its back to its old ways and I changed nothing and did not open any other programs. It was working for about 1 minutes and then went back to how it was and the only thing I touched was Ventrilo (didn't change any settings).


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:20 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.