Ventrilo Tech Support

Ventrilo Tech Support (http://forum.ventrilo.com/index.php)
-   Macintosh Client (http://forum.ventrilo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Connection issue (http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=205340)

artomos 01-14-2013 10:04 PM

Connection issue
 
I sometimes go to the library and when I connect to the internet and i need to just be listening in ventrillo I cannot connect. I believe this has something to do with them having their server's IP set up in a way that Ventrillo doesnt want you in as you cannot be banned without and IP. or there could be an entirely different issue.
I can connect at home, I am not banned, and this is the same problem with all servers I have used. I am wondering if there is some way to fix this? any help is appreciated.

Prog-Rocker 01-16-2013 10:04 AM

sounds like the library has some network security in place.

before hitting the connect button, what does the vent window display?

MSG: ???

Jaycyn 01-17-2013 02:28 PM

Most likely this is not an issue that needs to be fixed:

Many public wi-fi networks have certain 'ports' blocked.

A port (not the wine kind) is the why in which many applications connect to the internet. Web browsers use port 80, mail uses a few ports 25, 110 etc.

Ventrilo also uses ports. Unfortunately it sounds like the public wi-fi networks you are using have the ports blocked that Ventrilo needs to operate. You home network on the other hand has those ports open by default.

The only 'fix' is to have then open those ports for communication - an they will generally not do that.

artomos 01-29-2013 06:49 PM

it just says contacting to server
Yeah that was somthing else i also thought of and i could try it out is there any way though to figure out what ports ventrillo does use so I might be able to attemt to get them opened

i just figured that not haing an IP might also cause issues also as then the ban system would not work with NOIP or it would maybe just block everyone that uses it?

Prog-Rocker 01-29-2013 07:07 PM

vent uses the ipaddres and port# that's configured in the Server setup section at the top of the window. clik on the right-arrow button

can you temp disable NOIP just to test connectivity?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:59 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.