Ventrilo Tech Support

Ventrilo Tech Support (http://forum.ventrilo.com/index.php)
-   Macintosh Client (http://forum.ventrilo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   The Verdict: VPC and Ventrilo? (http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=11150)

NYSFTD 02-08-2006 10:58 PM

The Verdict: VPC and Ventrilo?
 
Post all your comments here about your experiences with running Ventrilo on VPC.

YES I know they can change to speex, but sometimes it isn't as easy as it sounds in concept.

Does it work on VPC? Can you connect to GSM? Can you listen? Can you speak? Any issues? Problems? Were they all solved?

Please respond.

halprin 02-09-2006 12:06 AM

Ummm... they can change to speex... :\
Ventrilo is not supported through VPC IIRC.

***mindless rant***

Holy crap guys... Go speex! :\

NYSFTD 02-09-2006 12:21 AM

Well I'm looking to know what it is capable of doing. Windows Vent WILL run on VPC I'm sure. So I am looking to figure out the exact limitations.

Flagship 02-09-2006 12:46 AM

Don't count on getting it to work properly. Virtual machines especially emulating a completely different processor and running an application that is "real-time" generally will never work the way you want it to.

gramathy 02-09-2006 01:45 PM

That and interfaces between the hardware and the "virtual machine" are notoriously poor.

NYSFTD 02-09-2006 04:00 PM

Well I know someone else posted on this.

If I can at least listen, that's a good enough start until the server gets it's butt together and changes to speex. So if you think that VPC will let me connect and listen, even if can't speak, then it may be worth it for me for now.

SO if anyone can confirm that you can in fact connect and listen, even if the input is messed up, please let me know.

spasm321 02-09-2006 06:41 PM

Confirmed. Connected and listened fine. No talking as of yet because it is quite hard to get XP to recognize a mic. If you are capable of getting VPC to recognize a mic, I'm sure you will have no problem talking too.

Edit: I forgot, I haven't tested it on a GSM server. Someone post one up that I can freely come into and I'll give you a confirmation on that. But it works fine and dandy with a Speex server.

NYSFTD 02-10-2006 05:15 AM

Does codec matter if it's technically running on Windows XP?

The only issue I'd forsee would be that my mic is running on mac software, so the windows environment within my mac wouldn't register me pressing the push to talk button. Maybe voice activation would fix that?

I would imagine that if vent and GSM work on Windows, then it'd connect and I'd be able to hear people just fine. Just a few mic hardware issues.

Flagship? If this isn't the case, tell me. I can tell you now that the group I'm running with IS working on getting it changed to speex, but they need me to take steps now to get into the channel. If this works, even vaguely crappily like that, I'd like any sort of definite answer.

If you're doubtful, I'd like to know that too.

PopeZaphod 02-10-2006 09:46 PM

Yes, you can listen to GSM-encoded talk by using Vent on VirtualPC - but you'd only have to do so if your guild is either (a) totally clueless on how to ask their host to switch codecs to Speex, or (b) too selfish to switch to a codec that sounds as good - if not better - than GSM just because they don't care if one Mac user can't use Vent.

NYSFTD 02-11-2006 04:43 AM

The long and short of it is that I worry that the outside host for their server is clueless. They talk about switching to speex like it's a major "scheduled outage", which was supposed to happen weeks ago. I want to jump the gun a little. Thanks for the info.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:48 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.