Ventrilo Tech Support

Ventrilo Tech Support (http://forum.ventrilo.com/index.php)
-   Server (http://forum.ventrilo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   External users unable to connect to 2wire network. (http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=42313)

deadlystryker 03-15-2010 11:11 PM

External users unable to connect to 2wire network.
 
I have a similar setup, and the same problem. This is my first post, so bear with me. Before I set my network up as defined by MindScrew, can we narrow this down? I am sure I have missed something along the lines of port-forwarding.

Quote:

Originally Posted by deadlystryker
  • AT&T FiOs. Multiple "set-top boxes" running on cat5 cables and coax.
  • Netgear gigabit switch in between.
  • 192.168.1.101 (nate_pc) is my main, this box.
  • 192.168.1.73 (server) running Ubuntu server 9.10. Remote administration of server through eBox.
  • The server is started on boot, in daemon mode (I guess...)
  • I am able to connect from my home network, but others cannot.
  • Outside connections can view my http server at hostname.
  • Ports are forwarded to 192.168.1.73 (TCP/UDP 3784. UDP 6100 after reading threads.)
  • DynDns Open Port Tool shows the port as "timed out", although I did have it show "open" once, but cannot return to that configuration.
  • Nmap shows port 3784/tcp as "tcpwrapped"
  • AIM: Deadlystryker88 best method of contact.

/etc/network/interfaces looks like
Code:

auto lo eth0
iface lo inet loopback
iface eth0 inet dhcp

Through eBox, I have an option of designating my eth0 interface as external.
Quote:

Originally Posted by eBox Administration
Traffic being routed through interfaces marked as external will be NATed. Also, services meant for the LAN users will not be available on external interfaces.

.
.
.
.

Server

192.168.1.73
|
|
| Nate_pc
| 192.168.1.101
| |
| | PS3
| | |
| | | Xbox360
| | | |
| | | | 192.168.1.xxx (another pc)
| | | | |
| | | | | Two set-top boxes for TV
| | | | | |
Netgear 8 port Gigabit Switch Model GS108
|
|
| Main set-top box
| |
AT&T 2Wire Gateway (192.168.1.254 for configuration)
|
|
Hello World

Please see thread http://www.ventrilo.com/forums/showt...381#post149381 for previous discussion.

deadlystryker 03-17-2010 12:06 AM

AT&T has upgraded my firmware apparently, and the problem is solved. As I dissect the new configuration page for changes, I will post back when I find out what has solved my problem.

deadlystryker 03-17-2010 10:40 PM

Ventrilo Status is able to see the server, but users are still unable to connect.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.