Ventrilo Tech Support

Ventrilo Tech Support (http://forum.ventrilo.com/index.php)
-   Macintosh Client (http://forum.ventrilo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Connects to server but that's it. (http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=43184)

TheWhaler 05-25-2010 01:16 PM

Connects to server but that's it.
 
I've been trying to connect to a server with a few friends and I do connect, and it even pops up in their vent that I'm in the channel but on my screen I see nothing, hear nothing, etc.

I really have no idea what I'm doing to be honest.

Jaycyn 05-26-2010 12:53 PM

Step 1: Work through the Macintosh Client Setup Guide here

http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=39950


Step 2: If step 1 does not work, check the troubleshooting guide

http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=39590


After you do the above two steps, let us know where it's failing and we can troubleshoot from there.

TheWhaler 05-27-2010 12:57 PM

Step 1 I did right off the bat, and after looking through step two, none of those fields seem to be applying. I tested with the demo server and connected just fine only to have the same issue: I see nothing.

http://i47.tinypic.com/2j307e1.jpg
This is a screen cap of me being supposedly being connected to a server but as you can tell I can't see/hear/do anything. Everyone else in the channel can see my name displayed and is working just fine for them, but nothing for me. Not too sure what there is to do.

Prog-Rocker 05-27-2010 01:51 PM

looks like the UDP packets are getting blocked somewhere as you're not even seeing the server name at the top of the white area.

try temp disabling any firewall/virus apps.

Jaycyn 05-27-2010 04:12 PM

On your Mac, go to System Preferences.

In the top row of Icons you should have one called Security. Click it.

There will be three tabs General, FileVault and Firewall.

Click the Firewall tab.

Firewall should be Off.

If it isn't then click the stop button to turn it off.

Restart and try vent again.

Second thing to try: Do you use a router?

That's a device that sits between your cable modem (or dsl modem) and your Mac. If so, it may be blocking the information going from the Vent server to your computer.

You can try plugging your Mac directly in to your cable modem to bypass it (remember to unplug the power from the cable modem, wait 10 seconds and plug it back in) after you plug it in to your Mac.

or

If you know how to configure it, you can check it's settings and make sure it's firewall is turned OFF and NO ports are being blocked.

Let us know.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:42 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.