Ventrilo Tech Support

Ventrilo Tech Support (http://forum.ventrilo.com/index.php)
-   Server (http://forum.ventrilo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   How I fixed Server 3.0 (http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=25043)

Prog-Rocker 03-17-2008 09:55 AM

Local Connection

If you’re connecting the client from a different PC than the server then configure the client to use one of the internal ipaddresses of the server. If you’re running the client on the same PC as the server then use 127.0.0.1 or “localhost” as the servername.


check your portforward setup with this:

http://ventrilo.com/status.php

put in your external ipaddress and 3784

kilikopele 04-05-2008 09:13 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by wfisher (Post 105774)
Still No dice. I have a static external IP through my ISP, so I know its not that problem and I have assigned the server running vent a static IP on my internal network (192.168.x.x).

It will help if all future posters did the following and posted results as part of the question:

1) Upon installing, open client on SAME machine and try to connect to server using 127.0.0.1 (localhost). If you don't connect, uninstall, reboot, re-install, and make sure all your hardware is in working order.

2) If you DO connect, try client on other machine within your network and connect via a local address. (192.168.x.y)

3) If you're still good, retrieve your IP address from the link on the Ventrilo page and paste it into the Status link on the Ventrilo home page. Can it see you? If not, you've likely got a port or IP address problem. (BTW, make sure you also open port 6100 udp on the router for the server machine.)

Knowing those answers, and anything that happens in those steps will help the community solve your problem.

kinkood 05-18-2008 01:32 AM

Server IP: server.kinkood.com or 68.78.136.53
Quote:

Originally Posted by kilikopele (Post 107171)
It will help if all future posters did the following and posted results as part of the question:

1) Upon installing, open client on SAME machine and try to connect to server using 127.0.0.1 (localhost). If you don't connect, uninstall, reboot, re-install, and make sure all your hardware is in working order.

Can't test this as I'm running the server on Linux.
Quote:

Originally Posted by kilikopele (Post 107171)
2) If you DO connect, try client on other machine within your network and connect via a local address. (192.168.x.y)

I can connect fine from a Windows computer on the same network but not while attempting to use my external IP.
Quote:

Originally Posted by kilikopele (Post 107171)
3) If you're still good, retrieve your IP address from the link on the Ventrilo page and paste it into the Status link on the Ventrilo home page. Can it see you? If not, you've likely got a port or IP address problem. (BTW, make sure you also open port 6100 udp on the router for the server machine.)

I can telnet the port and the server will acknowledge the connection and disconnect it due to not logging in, but attempting to connect with a Ventrilo client and it doesn't even act like there's an attempted connection.
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ports Forwarded
Ventrilo Server - TCP 3784
Vent Server 2 - UDP 6100
Vent Server 3 - UDP 3784

I placed them in seperate applications (the way my router port forwards is to organize the ports into what application it's being forwarded for, they can have one or more port forward in it) just because I've run out of possible things to test.
Quote:

Originally Posted by kilikopele (Post 107171)
Knowing those answers, and anything that happens in those steps will help the community solve your problem.

I'm really hoping it's something simple I'm just overlooking, but I'm out of ideas. Thanks in advance.

Flagship 05-18-2008 01:36 AM

If you are on the inside LAN never use your external WAN address. The WAN is for external people only.

kinkood 05-18-2008 01:37 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Flagship (Post 109982)
If you are on the inside LAN never use your external WAN address. The WAN is for external people only.

Doesn't change that nobody can connect using it and the status page says that the server isn't responding. I was attempting to use it to see if I could possibly connect using it and the answer was no.

EDIT: Well nevermind, seems I can connect now after looking up how to fix some random problem (MSG: Synchronizing) and it was suggested to forward port 3866 TCP and UDP. Either that fixed it or it was unrelated as people used to be able to connect yesterday. Oh well.

Maybe the setup instructions for the server setup, under Port Forwarding, it should give information about what ports are required instead of just saying "This is beyond the scope of this documentation". I can understand that it's impossible to tell how to port forward absolutely for every router, but when I was trying to find which ports to forward I couldn't find anything in any obvious places other than 3784.

Toss123 10-22-2008 05:58 PM

Its still not working for me :/

Toss123 10-23-2008 03:40 AM

ok i dont know what happend but i just left my laptop on the whole night and when i woke up i tried to connect to the vent and then it worked. Strange really.

Destroyeer 10-23-2008 07:03 PM

Same problem
 
First ... Hello everyone I'm new to the forum and therefore I have the same problem can I connect to the internal ip but my friends can not connect to my server ... attempt to open TCP and UDP ports in 3784 but my router allows only with a "TCP or UDP" but not the two with 3784. if someone have any solution for this? my router is a Siemens Gigaset SE 461

Pheonix7102 11-21-2008 09:05 PM

i'm having a problem connecting with my server. up the server yet I can't connect to my own. did i mess up the ini file or what? and why can I never post attachments. I am tryin to put a picture on but it won't let me....


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.