Ventrilo Tech Support

Ventrilo Tech Support (http://forum.ventrilo.com/index.php)
-   Macintosh Client (http://forum.ventrilo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Trouble with the Mic (http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=20001)

Vhael 05-29-2007 09:50 AM

Trouble with the Mic
 
Hi :)

I'm having some trouble with outgoing sound. I can hear everything thing fine in vent. I can see my icon change color when I press the push-to-talk hotkey. But, no one can hear me.
I'm using an intel imac. I've tried both the built-in mic and a headset I nabbed off the PC.
The test button under setup, when I'm connected, works fine. But, I get nothing when I am just in a channel. It is set to the Speex Codec in there.

Any ideas?

wadesworld 05-29-2007 10:32 AM

You cannot use a standard PC-mic with a Mac unless you use a analog-to-USB adapter.

http://www.griffintechnology.com/products/imic/

You can also just use a USB headset if you prefer. I do not recommend using a Bluetooth headset.

Vhael 05-29-2007 08:03 PM

While I appreciate the info about the headset, it doesn't explain why the built-in mic does not work either.
Again, test button under set-up works fine. I've tried 3 different vent servers. But, once in channel, I can hear others and they cannot hear me. :confused:

mjgraf 05-29-2007 08:47 PM

ensure that mute mic is not checked at the bottom of ventrilo.

Vhael 05-30-2007 02:37 AM

It's not checked, no :(

mjgraf 05-30-2007 06:39 AM

then ensure that enable outgoing communications is checked in ventrilo setup.
if you are still having problems, please post screensots of the following windows:
ventrilo
setup > voice

tonmeister 05-30-2007 09:10 AM

I'm having a similiar issue. I've used vent for quite awhile, this only started happening with the last prototype. Incoming sound is fine, however outgoing sound isn't working. I've deleted the prefs and reinstalled, still didn't fix the issue. I'm using my powerbook g4 as a standalone vent machine, using line in audio with a quality mic connected to a mixing board. This setup worked for over a year perfectly. I've tried using the built-in mic from the powerbook as well. With the built-in, if I crank up the outgoing to max volume, I can barely be heard thru the excruciating noise I'm inflicting on others...

I see the sound input in the Sound System Prefs as having the proper Input level and it's working perfectly with other programs.

wadesworld 05-30-2007 09:15 AM

Post screenshots of your setup windows.

Vhael 05-30-2007 09:33 AM

http://home.earthlink.net/~vhael/images/Vent.gif
Here goes

wadesworld 05-30-2007 10:29 AM

Not having tried to use the built-in Mic, I'm not sure how well it works. Your setup looks OK, but you definitely shouldn't have to crank the input gain all the way up.

I'd recommend you get a USB headset or adapter and give it a try.

In the interim, if you want to, send me a PM (and enable PM responses) and I'll give you the address of my server, and we can both try testing with built-in mics.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.