Ventrilo Tech Support

Ventrilo Tech Support (http://forum.ventrilo.com/index.php)
-   Macintosh Client (http://forum.ventrilo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Speex Codec. (http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=9540)

mjgraf 11-03-2005 09:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by alpha_32
can a server run more than one codec? (ie the GSM one and Speex)

no

Flagship 11-03-2005 10:18 PM

But is that codec accessible by other programs? I'll have to ask my Apple contact about it.

acantril 11-04-2005 03:57 AM

This should be on the priority list, i for one am VERY happy to have a native mac client, but being in a guild with windows users who just wont switch codec's (especially not a lower quality one) just ruins this for me and im assuming many mac users.

Any updates on this yet ?

mastgrr 11-04-2005 06:10 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Justice
GSM 6.10 Codec has been included in Quicktime since Jaguar (10.2) - its Open Source and fully ported, so why isn't it included in Ventrilo? (Edit: well, at least I found a website that SAYS it is/was)

Actually, I recall Quicktime supporting GSM as well.

According to here 10.3 would support the GSM 6.10 codec. I booted up my iMac with 10.3.x with Quicktime 6.5...

Nope. Unless they took away GSM in 6.5 from 6.0.

I think the case is that I've used Quicktime for Windows and confused them both.

Oh well.

Ryker 11-04-2005 07:18 AM

So if i understand this correctly, at this present time the mac client only supports the Speex codex. Now question is, are there any plans in the future to allow for the mac client to use other codex's?

Ryker

shidarin 11-04-2005 11:11 AM

Our guild used to be running GSM highest quality, now running Speex highest quality. With the newest windows client there is no difference.

Flagship 11-04-2005 11:55 AM

There is a difference but it really isn't that bad. Play with it for a day or two and you won't even notice it any more.

Of course, you need to get all the windows clients upgraded to 2.3.2.Beta.1 or higher.

acantril 11-04-2005 01:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Flagship
There is a difference but it really isn't that bad. Play with it for a day or two and you won't even notice it any more.

Of course, you need to get all the windows clients upgraded to 2.3.2.Beta.1 or higher.

If you could check the GSM codec though would be nice, tbh im starting to like the supported codec on my 5 user vent server, but for my hosted guild one , just cannot convince them to change, try as a might.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.