Ventrilo Tech Support

Ventrilo Tech Support (http://forum.ventrilo.com/index.php)
-   Server (http://forum.ventrilo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Contacting Server.... (http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=37175)

Pinfall 05-25-2009 04:51 PM

Contacting Server....
 
I have installed the vent server today and was able to get it working this morning after opening ports on my router. I left the house for a while and the server computer went to sleep so I rebooted the computer and restarted the server and can not get the clients to see the sever. I already went to the http://www.ventrilo.com/status.php page to see if I can see my server and it shows up as running on this page but still the clients do not see the server.

I have rebooted everything including the router and cable modem to no avail. If anyone has any suggestions I would greatly appreciate it.


Thanks in advance.

Prog-Rocker 05-25-2009 05:27 PM

can you connect locally:

For PC’s connecting on the same LAN as the server:
If you’re connecting the client from a different PC than the server then configure the client to use one of the internal ipaddresses of the server for the servername.

If you’re running the client on the same PC as the server then use 127.0.0.1 or “localhost” as the servername.

Most home routers will not loopback a connection if you specify your external ipaddress or hostname.

Pinfall 05-25-2009 05:52 PM

Can not connect locally or remotly. Not running client on same pc as server.

"For PC’s connecting on the same LAN as the server:
If you’re connecting the client from a different PC than the server then configure the client to use one of the internal ipaddresses of the server for the servername."

Also tried this, still no luck.

Pinfall 05-25-2009 06:23 PM

The really strange thing is when I was able to see the server on the serverstatus page the first time I was directly able to connect on my client and a friends client.

tb123 05-26-2009 09:42 AM

turn off "sleep" for the computer you had it on the first time start it up there. remember to give it a few minutes to start up.

test locally. 127.0.0.1 with a different PC

if you can not connect try a ping.

open "run" / cmd / ping 127.0.0.1

this should ether do one of 2 things

Ip not found
or
bits/sec pinged # of times

but do this on a remote (client computer)

what OS are you running btw?

Prog-Rocker 05-26-2009 11:00 AM

does the vent server console window display "Ready:" at the bottom?

Daylighter 05-27-2009 07:30 AM

hi i have problem what ip and port number i sent to my frined to log in my ventrilo i am in but i dunno what ip sent and port answer me thanks

Prog-Rocker 05-27-2009 05:15 PM

daylighter -

at the top of the vent window, server config section, the ipaddress/hostname and port# are located there.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.