Ventrilo Tech Support

Ventrilo Tech Support (http://forum.ventrilo.com/index.php)
-   Windows Client (http://forum.ventrilo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Stuck on "Contacting Server" (http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=47499)

sn1p3r 06-27-2011 12:40 PM

Stuck on "Contacting Server"
 
I'm having trouble connecting to my clan's vent server. It's just stuck on "? MSG: Contacting Server"

I'm running latest version of ventrilo, using windows xp home sp3. Stuck to be honest.

sn1p3r 06-27-2011 03:29 PM

Results of a tracert

Tracing route to california.maxfrag.net [72.37.221.158]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 * * * Request timed out.
2 280 ms 302 ms 246 ms 10.126.243.13
3 275 ms 222 ms 216 ms 10.111.227.217
4 288 ms 269 ms 276 ms 10.111.227.99
5 286 ms 289 ms 260 ms 10.111.227.234
6 252 ms 251 ms 218 ms 10.111.226.101
7 * * * Request timed out.
8 293 ms 297 ms 259 ms 10.126.168.169
9 * * * Request timed out.
10 * * * Request timed out.
11 * * * Request timed out.
12 391 ms 400 ms 419 ms 72.37.221.158.rdns.ubiquityservers.com [72.37.221.158]

Trace complete.

Telnet is successful pretty much instantly...

Prog-Rocker 06-27-2011 04:18 PM

ok, looks like the UDP packets are getting blocked somewhere as the MSG is on contacting but the telnet works (which is TCP based)

first try turning off all firewall/virus/spyware/malware apps

Does your system have an older Bigfoot Killer Network Card installed? If yes, then try configuring it for "Application Mode" instead of "Game Mode"

Try powering off the modem-router-pc (in that order) for at least 60 seconds each (this will clear all cached data)

In Windows Network Properties, disable all un-used network card ports (some cards include both wired and wireless ports)
Windows Control-Panel / network and sharing / manage network connection / right-click on the device(s) that aren't used and select 'disable'

In Windows Network Properties, try disabling QoS:
Windows XP Control-Panel / network and sharing / view status (link on right side) / properties / uncheck "QoS Packet Scheduler"
Windows 7 Control-Panel / network and sharing / Change adapter settings link / right-click on the adapter in use / Properties / uncheck "QoS Packet Scheduler"

Booting Into Safe-Mode

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/w...ding-safe-mode

Restart Windows
Keep hitting the F8 function key before the Windows logo appears. You should see a list of options to choose from.
Select “Safe Mode with Networking”. This will boot windows into a very basic configuration but also allow network drivers to load.

Start Ventrilo to see if it connects all the way. If it works properly then there is something that is loading during the normal boot that is interferring with the connection.

sn1p3r 06-28-2011 11:38 AM

No I don't have any bigfoot network cards installed. I've tried disabling firewall and antivirus, still no luck. I've disabled unused network connections(only 2 connections available, unused is wired lan). I've disabled QoS and still nothing.

I'm unable to boot in safe mode +n because I required an internet connection from a T-Mobile Broadband dongle. I read somewhere on the forums to try turning off proxy settings but I don't believe the dongle is using a proxy? :s

sn1p3r 06-30-2011 11:36 AM

bump.

sn1p3r 07-01-2011 12:09 PM

bump, still no luck at the moment...

Prog-Rocker 07-01-2011 12:26 PM

are you running any VPN software or does the tmobile have any vpn type settings?

fyi, there is another poster with a problem with tmobile too, tho his connection problem is a bit different
http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=47520

sn1p3r 07-01-2011 02:39 PM

Nope not running or using any VPN and as far as am I'm aware my tmobile don't either.
If it's any help I'm using the ZTE MF637 dongle modem. My tmobile software is to do date as well.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Derek30 (Post 163807)
When i open ventrilo it says server availiable for a couple of seconds then changes to contacting server and stays there.

The only time I can get as far as the channels and users is if i leave ventrilo running, i disconect and reconect my internet via the icon taskbar, but it disconect liek 10seconds or so after.

I tried this last a little longer than 10 seconds, more like 20-30ish. I'm running Windows XP Home SP3 and heres a screenshot.

http://i56.tinypic.com/huk708.jpg

Prog-Rocker 07-01-2011 09:43 PM

ok, let's see if we can force windows to use a specific route to your server. post the results from the following command:

start > run
cmd
route print



i don't suppose there's a PPP dialup option for windows xp in that list?

sn1p3r 07-02-2011 03:01 AM

Code:

===========================================================================
Interface List
0x1 ........................... MS TCP Loopback interface
0x20003 ...00 53 45 00 00 00 ...... WAN (PPP/SLIP) Interface
===========================================================================
===========================================================================
Active Routes:
Network Destination        Netmask          Gateway      Interface  Metric
          0.0.0.0          0.0.0.0  178.101.121.45  178.101.121.45      1
        127.0.0.0        255.0.0.0        127.0.0.1      127.0.0.1      1
  178.101.121.45  255.255.255.255        127.0.0.1      127.0.0.1      50
  178.101.255.255  255.255.255.255  178.101.121.45  178.101.121.45      50
        224.0.0.0        240.0.0.0  178.101.121.45  178.101.121.45      1
  255.255.255.255  255.255.255.255  178.101.121.45  178.101.121.45      1
Default Gateway:    178.101.121.45
===========================================================================
Persistent Routes:
  None

Thats the results of a route print.

There isn't a PPP dialp option for winxp as far as I'm aware, only other option available in that drop down menu is SLIP: Unix Connection.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.