Ventrilo Tech Support

Ventrilo Tech Support (http://forum.ventrilo.com/index.php)
-   Macintosh Client (http://forum.ventrilo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Robotic Static Sounds (http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=37302)

Rthenia 08-08-2009 11:35 AM

I have the same issue, I'm using a 24" iMac 3.06 Ghz. I have checked all the system Audio settings, I have trashed an reset all the vent settings. I have purchased and tried several headsets, 2 plantronics, and a Tritton AX PC headset. I have a vast knowledge of the system and cannot resolve this. I am an Apple certified tech with 15 years experience (Tech ID: USA026D7). This has happened since the release of the 10.5.6 patch and has continued with 10.5.7, and 10.5.8. I have also checked all back ground process, made sure no other applications other than WOW and Ventrilo are running. Any Ideas on the cause of this? Is this a design issue with the Vent software?

Haha, Darth Vader, they call me Optimus Prime when it happens.

Rthenia 08-08-2009 11:52 AM

FYI, this thread has a possible fix:

http://discussions.apple.com/thread....rt=15&tstart=0

"To fix this, I went into Apps/Utilities/Audio Midi Setup. In the Audio menu there is an entry "Open Aggregate Device Editor". Click that.
In the dialog, click the + button at the bottom of the list, which was empty on my machine.
It will add a new device and in the bottom pane all the sound devices in your computer will show up. Only check the ones you want to use (USB audio). Then use the Clock radio button and select one of the USB devices as the clock source (I used the output).
Click Done.
Now set your default input and output to "Aggregate Device"."

"One thing I forgot to mention...in the output options on the Aggregate Device (lower pane of the main window in Audio MIDI Setup) I set the output rate from 8 bits to 16. I don't know why it would default to 8 bits unless Apple lives in 1986. Go figure."

Jaycyn 08-11-2009 07:11 AM

Testing the above setup now.

sriggins 08-12-2009 09:47 PM

I've tried this and other variations, no luck!

Jaycyn 08-13-2009 03:20 PM

Agreed. Did not work and made no difference.

Mark Free 08-14-2009 08:20 PM

Same thing happens to me.

Mac Pro (Early 2008)
OSX 10.5.6, 10.5.7, 10.5.8 — had this problem on all of those versions.
Tried all USB ports (tower, monitor, keyboard).
Headset: Plantronics Audio 770 USB.

After 20-25 minutes I start to sound robotic with a loud background noise (like static). When I reconnect or restart the client, everything goes well for another ~20 minutes.

Yesterday I got two new headsets to try.
1. Creative Fatal1ty HS-1000 USB.
2. Creative HS-1200 Wireless (USB transmitter).

1. Was using Fatal1ty for over 5 hours. No "robotic" thingy, sound is great as well as my voice. But after about an hour of usage all sounds (not my voice, but sounds that go to the headphones) would go metallic (like the sound in the Matrix movie when Neo took the pill) and fade away completely. After reconnecting or restarting Ventrilo, everything is fine again for another hour or so.

2. With HS-1200 Wireless in test mode (right away, without even connecting to a server), even if I don't talk and only press PTT button, I hear static. When I talk, the static goes a tiny bit louder.
UPD: Even though in the test mode there is static noise, but on an actual server people say that I sound loud and clear without any background noises.

At first, I though I am that unlucky and got defective headsets. But then I tried to use them in Skype and iChat and everything was perfect there.

-

I really hope you will manage to fix the issues with USB headsets sooner or later, because I love Ventrilo and hate to use TS.
Oh, and also, any ETA on getting GSM codec in Mac client (and on OSX in general)?

Thanks.

wadesworld 08-15-2009 10:53 AM

Quote:

Oh, and also, any ETA on getting GSM codec in Mac client (and on OSX in general)?
It will not happen.

Mark Free 08-17-2009 08:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by wadesworld (Post 139534)
It will not happen.

And you know that how?

wadesworld 08-17-2009 07:06 PM

Quote:

And you know that how?
I know that because Flagship has said unless Apple adds GSM to the OS, he will not support it on the Mac.

Sapare 08-31-2009 03:08 AM

Robotic Static Sounds
 
I still havent been able to figure out the audio issue. It seems like it might be an alright game, but I dont feel like listening to static so I havent gotten very far in.

I hope this gets fixed, or I find a solution, soon.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.