Ventrilo Tech Support

Ventrilo Tech Support (http://forum.ventrilo.com/index.php)
-   Macintosh Client (http://forum.ventrilo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Cutting in and out (http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=35287)

daeus 02-11-2009 02:50 PM

Cutting in and out
 
I've had this on-going issue for some time now, and I think it started more or less around the time I updated to 3.0 (but I could be wrong on that). The issue is, that when I talk on vent, anything I say, more often than not, gets broken up as to be unintelligible. Here's an example:

To others, it soun..............I am .................but they ........pieces .............I am ..........

Now, I've already checked my system preferences, everything is already set up right there. As well as the settings in vent. I have also tried 2 different headsets along with 2 different USB adaptors in 2 different USB ports... no dice. I know for sure it's not the mics 'cause I've used them on Skype without issue. Nothing is muted on the mic or on vent's end and to boot, I can hear other users just fine.

Has anyone else experienced this, or can Flagship enlighten me as to whether this might be a ventrilo issue that can be fixed, because there is nothing more frustrating than relaying instructions, and being constantly interupted by other users saying that I cut out again and having to repeat again, sometimes 2-3 times the same thing.

Prog-Rocker 02-11-2009 03:31 PM

what's your upload bandwidth when it happen? www.speedtest.net
who's your ISP?

perform a traceroute to the server when it happens and post the results:

start > run > cmd

tracert serverhostname(found in server setup)


mjgraf 02-11-2009 03:33 PM

does it studder like this when you Test in setup?

daeus 02-11-2009 08:21 PM

@Prog-Rocker

Upload was 662 kb/s
ISP is Sympatico

Traceroute will be a toughy as this is always happening. It's not intermittent. Plus, I'm not sure how to do this on a mac (your instructions are for a Windows machine).

@mjgraf

No it doesn't stutter on the test in setup.

daeus 02-11-2009 08:29 PM

Ok, I figured out how to do a traceroute. Here is what I got from it:

traceroute to Dallas9.NationVoice.com (70.84.146.90), 64 hops max, 40 byte packets
1 bas3-montreal28_lo0_SYMP.net.bell.ca (64.230.197.107) 43.318 ms 42.887 ms 41.397 ms
2 core1-montreal02_GE3-1-2_140.net.bell.ca (64.230.142.229) 41.325 ms 42.831 ms 41.377 ms
3 Ncore3-montreal02_POS0-4-1-0_core.net.bell.ca (64.230.168.237) 45.267 ms 41.117 ms 43.314 ms
4 core3-montreal02_POS10-1-0_core.net.bell.ca (64.230.168.234) 41.280 ms 41.056 ms 41.298 ms
5 core2-newyork83_pos_3_0_0.net.bell.ca (64.230.207.142) 49.234 ms 48.955 ms 53.222 ms
6 CORE2-NEWYORK83_POS6-0-0_core.net.bell.ca (64.230.187.86) 51.162 ms 52.862 ms 49.250 ms
7 Verio-Peering.net.bell.ca (64.230.187.102) 49.070 ms 50.700 ms 92.687 ms
8 ae-0.r21.nycmny01.us.bb.gin.ntt.net (129.250.2.26) 49.213 ms 52.052 ms 55.170 ms
9 as-0.r20.chcgil09.us.bb.gin.ntt.net (129.250.6.13) 76.743 ms 64.121 ms as-0.r20.asbnva02.us.bb.gin.ntt.net (129.250.2.9) 55.088 ms
10 ae-0.r21.chcgil09.us.bb.gin.ntt.net (129.250.3.98) 66.442 ms as-1.r20.dllstx09.us.bb.gin.ntt.net (129.250.3.42) 88.348 ms 94.239 ms
11 p64-4-1-0.r21.dllstx09.us.bb.gin.ntt.net (129.250.4.112) 88.503 ms * 88.871 ms
12 * xe-2-4.r01.dllstx09.us.ce.gin.ntt.net (157.238.225.6) 93.336 ms *
13 te7-1.dsr02.dllstx3.theplanet.com (70.87.253.18) 86.966 ms 94.126 ms xe-2-4.r01.dllstx09.us.ce.gin.ntt.net (157.238.225.6) 90.656 ms
14 po32.dsr02.dllstx4.theplanet.com (70.87.253.78) 94.507 ms te9-1.dsr02.dllstx3.theplanet.com (70.87.253.22) 90.334 ms te9-1.dsr01.dllstx3.theplanet.com (70.87.253.6) 92.327 ms
15 po1.car02.dllstx4.theplanet.com (67.18.116.99) 90.274 ms po31.dsr01.dllstx4.theplanet.com (70.87.253.74) 94.070 ms po1.car02.dllstx4.theplanet.com (67.18.116.99) 94.298 ms
16 * po1.car02.dllstx4.theplanet.com (67.18.116.99) 101.116 ms *
17 * * *
18 * * *
19 * * *
20 * * *
21 * * *
22 * * *
23 * * *
24 * * *
25 * * *
26 * * *
27 * * *
28 * * *
29 * * *
30 * * *

After 17 it just continued the same way.

wadesworld 02-12-2009 01:53 AM

Are you using voice activation, or push-to-talk?

daeus 02-12-2009 09:09 AM

Push to talk.

daeus 02-17-2009 11:49 AM

Did the traceroute test help any? Anyone at all have a thought on this?

mjgraf 02-17-2009 03:06 PM

what ping is ventrilo reporting?
the traceroute is fine.

daeus 02-18-2009 06:53 PM

It seems to sit around 89-90 ping all the time.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.