Ventrilo Tech Support

Ventrilo Tech Support (http://forum.ventrilo.com/index.php)
-   Macintosh Client (http://forum.ventrilo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   [BUG] Can't phantom new passworded channel as admin (http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=21164)

tuxedobob 07-25-2007 01:52 AM

[BUG] Can't phantom new passworded channel as admin
 
If you are an admin user and attempt to place a phantom in a channel that has a password (or is deeper in the hierarchy than one that does), you can't do so unless you have previously entered the channels password, even if you are logged into the server as an admin user.

Conditions to replicate:
1) Log in to vent server as admin. Server Admin -> Log in...
2) Create a new channel with a password.
3) Attempt to leave a phantom in that channel.

Expected Result:
- Phantom is placed in channel.

Actual Result:
- Dialog box: "Unable to set Phantom. Reason = Not authenticated for specified channel."

Workaround:
1) Log out as admin user.
2) Enter passworded channel. Enter the channel password when asked.
3) [optional] Log in as admin user.
4) Add phantom to channel.


I'm not sure if this is specific to the Macintosh client or whether this is a server or multi-platform issue, but the Mac client is the only one I currently have access to.

Flagship 07-25-2007 02:40 AM

LOgout as admin.
Authenticate with the channel.
Problem solved.

tuxedobob 07-25-2007 02:53 AM

That's the workaround I posted, yes. ;)
It's rather counterintuitive that you don't need to authenticate with the channel to join the channel, but you do in order to phantom the channel. I would suggest that admins be allowed to phantom channels without specifically authenticating via the channel password. (This could potentially be very confusing if some other admin changes the channel password.)

Flagship 07-25-2007 11:18 AM

Sorry, I didn't read the entire post. Thought you were looking for the workaround. (Tired).

This is fixed in the next release.

tuxedobob 07-26-2007 07:12 PM

Good to hear. ;) I didn't see it in the list of known issues, though, so I figured it was worth a thread.

Get more sleep, I guess? :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.